write because you have something to say

“You don’t write because you want to say something, you write because you have something to say.” -F. Scott Fitzgerald.
 
Tsh Oxenreider posted that quote on instagram not that long ago and it stuck with me. Many days, I am here at home with my boys and I have a lot of time to think about things. I love that. I am a thinker, and I like having time to think and make connections. But often times I feel like I don’t have an outlet for these connections and conclusions that I come to.

I go in phases when I feel like I have something to say. Right now, I feel like sharing some thoughts but I know I won’t always feel like that. When I did blog more regularly at one time in my life, it stressed me out to think about content for my blog….like I had to have something to say. But I think the best blogs are the ones out there from people who think deeply about things and write honest reflections about what is going on in their lives. They aren’t saying things just to say them, they are saying them because they have something to say.

So, when I have time and energy, I am going to start saying some things in this space that I feel are worth sharing. Sometimes I feel mighty ambivalent about sharing stuff on the internet because for 1.) I don’t really know who my audience is, so it feels a bit impersonal, 2.) what’s the difference between me sharing here or writing in a journal…do people even care about what I have to say and 3.) words often cheapen deep, soul-satisfying truths that I have come to experience. When certain thoughts or conclusions have labels or words attached to them, they become less expansive.
 
But I do want to start writing. I have a whole list of topics on my phone that I would like to write about! So I am going to try to make that happen.
Leave a Reply

